Jacques van der Westhuyzen
Head of Sport
2 minute read
15 Sep 2021
11:31 am

Orie, Nyakane in for Boks as Nienaber sticks with 6-2 bench split

Jacques van der Westhuyzen

There is also a change on the bench where Steven Kitshoff takes the place of Ox Nche.

Trevor Nyakane is back in the Springbok team for Saturday's Rugby Championship Test against the Wallabies in Brisbane. Picture: Gallo Images

Marvin Orie will earn a seventh Springbok cap against Australia in a Rugby Championship match in Brisbane on Saturday, the lock taking over from the concussed Lood de Jager.

Also, Trevor Nyakane will get a start in place of Steven Kitshoff on the loosehead side of the scrum.

These are the only changes made to the Bok team that lost to the Wallabies with the last kick of the game on the Gold Coast last weekend.

On the bench, Kitshoff replaces Ox Nche.

Springbok coach Jacques Nienaber has again opted for a six-two split of forwards and backs on the bench where Marco van Staden, Kwagga Smith and Jasper Wiese will again serve as loose-forward cover.

Herschel Jantjies and Damian Willemse will provide cover in the backline.

“This is an experienced group of players who knows what it takes to deliver under pressure, and we all know what we need to do to bounce back from last week’s defeat,” said Nienaber.

“Trevor is a Rugby World Cup winning prop and his experience, as well as Steven’s experience off the bench, will be valuable against the Wallabies, who place a big emphasis on the scrums, much like we do.

“Marvin has also been in our system for a while. He has been working hard at training, and this will be another great opportunity for him.”

The match kicks off 9.05am SA time on Saturday.

Springbok team to face Australia at the Suncorp Stadium:

Willie le Roux, Sbu Nkosi, Lukhanyo Am, Damian de Allende, Makazole Mapimpi, Handré Pollard, Faf de Klerk, Duane Vermeulen, Franco Mostert, Siya Kolisi (capt), Marvin Orie, Eben Etzebeth, Frans Malherbe, Bongi Mbonambi, Trevor Nyakane.

Bench: Malcolm Marx, Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Marco van Staden, Kwagga Smith, Jasper Wiese, Herschel Jantjies, Damian Willemse