Sports Reporter
2 minute read
3 Dec 2021
11:58 am

Stormers pick seasoned Orie, Senatla for Lions clash

Sports Reporter

It will be the first game in months that fans will be allowed in the stands to cheer on their favourite team.

Marvin Orie is back in the Stormers team for the URC match against his former team, the Lions. Picture: Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images

Lock Marvin Orie and wing Seabelo Senatla will make their first appearances of the season for the Stormers in the United Rugby Championship encounter with the Lions at DHL Stadium on Saturday.

Springbok Orie was with the national squad for the first four matches of the season, while speedster Senatla makes his return from injury in the clash against the Johannesburg side which kicks off at 5pm on Saturday.

Orie starts in the second row alongside captain Salmaan Moerat, with the rest of the forward pack unchanged from the combination that started the 24-10 victory against the Dragons in Newport last month.

Senatla and Sergeal Petersen start on the wings, with Warrick Gelant at fullback and and Dan du Plessis and Ruhan Nel linking up in midfield.

ALSO READ: Blitzboks star pleads for return of stolen Sevens gear

Stormers coach John Dobson said that his team is determined to be at their best in their first home game of the campaign, which will have a limited crowd of 2,000 spectators in the stands according to government COVID-19 protocols.

“It has been quite some time since we played in front of our faithful fans, so this will be a special occasion for the team and we want to put up a worthy performance,” said Dobson.

“It is great to have some of our best players back in the mix and preparations have gone really well, so hopefully that translates onto the pitch on Saturday.

“We were pleased with the progress we made as a team on our tour and we want to build on that and deliver a rousing performance at home.”

Stormers: Warrick Gelant, Sergeal Petersen, Ruhan Nel, Dan du Plessis, Seabelo Senatla, Manie Libbok, Stefan Ungerer, Evan Roos, Willie Engelbrecht, Junior Pokomela, Marvin Orie, Salmaan Moerat (capt), Neethling Fouche, Scarra Ntubeni, Brok Harris.
Bench: Andre-Hugo Venter, Kwenzo Blose, Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, Ernst van Rhyn, Nama Xaba, Godlen Masimla, Rikus Pretorius, Tim Swiel.