Jacques van der Westhuyzen

Compiled by Jacques van der Westhuyzen

Head of Sport

Bryan Habana to join rugby greats in Hall of Fame

The prolific winger was a sensation during the 2007 Rugby World Cup.

Former Springbok World Cup-winning wing Bryan Habana is one of five players who’ll be inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame at the annual awards ceremony in Paris on October 29.

The other four are New Zealand’s Dan Carter, France’s Thierry Dusautoir, Australia’s George Smith and Argentina’s Juan Martin Hernandez.

The five inductees bring the total in the Hall of Fame to 166 since it began in 2006.

‘Exciting and inspiring’

World Rugby Chairman and Hall of Fame inductee Sir Bill Beaumont said: “Rugby World Cup 2023 is our 200th birthday party, the sport’s greatest celebration of togetherness. We are proud to be inducting five legends of the game, players who are indelibly linked to the remarkable Rugby World Cup story.

“Each have played a huge role in making the sport what it is today, exciting and inspiring in equal measure, while always being superb ambassadors for their sport. Their impact was greater than the field of play, it transcended sport and society, taking rugby to another level.

“Congratulations to our inductees. We look forward to celebrating their achievements at the World Rugby Awards in Paris on 29 October.”

2007 World Cup

Habana was crowned World Rugby Player of the Year for his stunning contribution to South Africa’s Rugby World Cup 2007 victory, becoming the second Springbok to receive the award after Schalk Burger in 2004.

The winger finished as the top try-scorer in the 2007 World Cup in France after touching down a record-equalling eight times.

Habana scored two more tries at Rugby World Cup 2011, to become the Springboks’ all-time leading try scorer, and added a further five in his tournament swansong in 2015 to take his overall tally to 15 and draw level with Jonah Lomu as the men’s Rugby World Cup all-time leading try scorer.

For the full biographies of the five players click here.

Read more on these topics

Rugby World Cup Springboks World Rugby

Access premium news and stories

Access to the top content, vouchers and other member only benefits