Tshepo Ntsoelengoe
Football Writer
2 minute read
13 Sep 2021
1:09 pm

Ellis glad to have overseas-based Banyana stars for Buhari Cup

Tshepo Ntsoelengoe

Banyana open their six nations Buhari Cup campaign with a clash against Ghana on Friday.

Desiree Ellis, coach of Banyana Banyana is happy to have her overseas-based stars for the Buhari Cup. (Pic Sydney Mahlangu/BackpagePix)

Banyana Banyana coach Desiree Ellis is glad to have her overseas-based players going into the Aisha Buhari camp in Nigeria.

ALSO READ: Fixture change sees Banyana in same group as hosts Nigeria

The Banyana mentor has the likes of Refiloe Jane, who is playing her football in Italy for AC Millan, as well as the likes of Thembi Kgatlana, who recently signed for Atletico Madrid in Spain.

With the squad compromising of tried and tested players, Ellis says there is room for new players to come into the squad having done provincial visits to look for raw talent in the Sasol League.

“We are grateful to have Refiloe Jane, who is doing well at AC Millan, Linda Motlhalo, another midfielder who is also doing well in Sweden. Hilda Magaia, who is scoring goals for fun. Thembi, we all know she got a big move to Atletiico Madrid, Lebogang Ramalepe, whom we haven’t seen for two years. And Janine van Wyk, so, we are very excited to have these players back after such a long time,” said Ellis.

“We saw when we were doing the provincial visits. People forget, yes, we have a national league, but not everyone can play in the national league. There are players who are doing well in the Sasol league, all these players who are playing in the national league started in the Sasol league. We keep our minds open to give players an oopportunity”

Banyana open their six nations Buhari Cup campaign in Group A with a clash against Ghana at Mobolaji Johnson Arena on Friday, before locking horns with the hosts Nigeria on 21 September at the same venue.

The other group consists of Cameroon, Mali and Morocco.

Banyana squad:

Goalkeepers: Kaylin Swart (JVW FC), Regirl Ngobeni (University of Western Cape)

Defenders: Lebogang Ramalepe (Dinamo Minsk), Janine van Wyk (Glasgow City), Tiisetso Makhubele (Tshwane University of Technology), Bambanani Mbane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Koketso  Tlailane (Tshwane University of Technology FC)

Midfielders: Ongeziwe Ndlangisa (Sunflower FC), Mamello Makhabane (JVW FC), Refiloe Jane (AC Milan), Linda Motlhalo (Djurgardens FC), Robyn Moodaly (JVW FC) Noxolo Cesane (University of Western Cape), Gabriela Salgado (JVW FC)

Strikers: Sibulele Holweni (University of Western Cape), Melinda Kgadiete (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Hildah Magaia (Moron BK), Thembi Kgatlana (Atletico Madrid)