Phakaaathi Reporter
1 minute read
15 Feb 2022
12:35 pm

Pirates and Sundowns avoid each other in Nedbank Cup last-16 draw

Phakaaathi Reporter

he draw was conducted in Johannesburg on Monday night.

Thembinkosi Lorch of Orlando Pirates goes past Ricardo Coetzee of Mamelodi Sundowns. Pirates and Sundowns acoided each other in the Nedbank Cup last-16 draw. (Picture: Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix)

Orlando Pirates and Mamelodi Sundowns have avoided each other in the Nedbank Cup round of 16.

ALSO READ: Sundowns pegged back by late Baroka rocket

The draw was conducted in Johannesburg on Monday night.

Pirates, who beat AmaZulu in the previous round, were drawn against Marumo Gallants, while Sundowns were pitted against lower division side Mathaithai FC.

For the first time in Nedbank Cup history, four lower division sides have progressed to the Last 16 stage.

Summerfield Dynamos, Sinenkani FC, Mathaithai FC and Black Eagles FC all impressed in the first round and will be aiming to once again defy odds by reaching the quarterfinals.

Nedbank’s Executive Head for Group Marketing, Nthabiseng Matshekga, said: ‘It’s been such a great experience watching all the teams on the field giving their all to secure a spot in the top 16. For us, sport is all about giving back to the fans and community at large.

“That is why as a financial services provider, we have recognised that in 2022 we can truly empower our clients and the general public to make better money choices through a journey that encourages responsible spending, saving and better borrowing choices.

“Through the Nedbank Cup, we are excited to offer products and services that enable progress and improvement in the lives of all South Africans.”

Last-16 draw results:

Venda Football Academy vs University of Pretoria
Swallows FC vs Royal AM
Marumo Gallants vs Orlando Pirates
Platinum City Rovers vs SuperSport United
TS Galaxy vs Baroka FC
Sinenkani vs Tshakhuma FC
Summerfield Dynamos vs Black Eagles FC
Mamelodi Sundowns vs Mathaithai FC

Dates and venues will be confirmed by the Premier Soccer League (PSL) at a later stage.