Local sportSport

Dust Buster XCM Series makes a top return to Mbombela

The 2024 Dust Buster XCM Series is officially under way, kicking off with no fewer than 250 cyclists across four different distances at the first event on Sunday June 9.

The first race of the 2024 Dust Buster XCM Series was a raging success. The event took place on Sunday June 9, with 250 cyclists taking to the start lines at Halls Nelspruit.

Organised by 2D Adventures, the Dust Buster XCM Series is a series of four events held at the Halls Farm with four races at each event covering four different distances. The 5km race is meant to be a fun event, but those participating don’t take it any less seriously.

The 16km, 35km and 55km races are, however, very serious and cyclists taking part know this. All three distances were hotly contested at the first event in the series on June 9.

Martin Nsimbini. > Photos: Blake Linder

Vincent Kinnear won the 5km race by finishing in a time of 26:14. Next to set off the timing beams was Schoeman du Plooy (26:26). Mila Mitha followed as the fastest girl in the 5km, completing her race in 26:27.

James Gerber. > Photos: Blake Linder

In the 16km the fastest times belonged to youngsters Dian Pretorius and Reinhardt Strydom, who both crossed the finish line in 38:12. But the tyre tread on Dian’s bike must have been ever so slightly more pronounced as he narrowly took home first place. Sinhle Sithole was third in a time of 40:03.

Emile van Niekerk. > Photos: Blake Linder

The 35km race wasn’t as close, but it was well contested. Anro Bekker finished first in a time of 1:24:51. This was just under four minutes ahead of Maya de Vries in second place, who finished in 1:28:38. Third-placed Gideon Broodryk was only one second behind to round out the podium places.

Emile van Niekerk was the triumphant rider in the 55km race, taking first place with a time of 1:50:35. He was followed over the line by Dewald Coetzee (1:54:15) in second and Igna de Villiers (1:54:21) in third. Megan Botha was the fastest female cyclist in the 55km race, finishing in a time of 2:11:30.

Megan Botha. > Photos: Blake Linder

Back to top button