Gosebo Mathope
2 minute read
17 Dec 2017
6:53 pm

Mkhize, Mokonyane and Pandor decline nominations to the Top Six

Gosebo Mathope

Pandor's decision was announced by the agency while Mokonyane and Mkhize told the conference they have pulled out of the race.

Just after the electoral agency contracted by the ANC’s electoral commission announced the consolidated results of the nomination from the branches, they were a few surprise but not altogether unexpected declines from nominees.

Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa received 1469 nominations by six provinces. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma received 1094 nominations. Both candidates accepted the nomination for the position of president.

Voting is currently underway and Jessie Duarte earlier today told the media they are hopeful the results will be released tomorrow morning.

For the deputy president position, David Mabuza received 1128 nominations, while Zweli Mkhize received 1193 nominations.

In a shock announcement, the outgoing Treasurer General of the ANC took to the podium and told the conference he is declining the nomination in the interest of “strengthening unity'”

Lindiwe Sisulu received 619 nominations and accepted the nomination for the position, setting a scene for a contest with David Mabuza as Naledi Pandor pulled out in advance.

Pandor’s decision was read out by the agency. She earlier averted a protracted debate when she encouraged the conference to deal with nominations for the 80 NEC members once the conference has concluded voting for the Top Six.

Gwede Mantashe garnered 1499 nominations for the position of national chairperson. Nathi Mthethwa received 807 nominations from five provinces to take on Mantashe.

For the position of secretary-general, Senzo Mchunu got 1479 branch nominations from seven provinces. Ace Magashule received 930 branches votes from across five provinces.

Jessie Duarte received 845 nominations across seven provinces in an attempt to retain the deputy secretary general position.

Her opponent Zingiswa Losi was nominated by 361 branches. Two other candidates declined prior to the announcement.

1058 nominations across five provinces agreed with Paul Mashatile in his bid to become to the Treasurer General.

After being told that she only managed 289 nominations from one province for the same position, Nomvula Mokonyane swiftly moved to the podium and announced: “My name is Nomvula and I decline.”

This left Mashatile to battle it out with Maite Nkoana-Mashabane who received 275 nominations from four provinces.

#ANC54: Delegates expected to nominate party leaders

1. Cyril Ramaphosa – 1469 (Accepted)
2. Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma – 1094 (Accepted

Deputy President:
1. David Mabuza – 1128 (Accepted)
2. Lindiwe Sisulu – 619 (Accepted)

National Chairperson:
1. Gwede Mantashe – 1499 (Accepted)
2. Nathi Mthethwa – 807 (Accepted)

Treasurer General:
1. Paul Mashatile – 1581 (Accepted)
2. Maite Nkoana-Mashabane – 275 (Accepted)

Secretary General:
1. Senzo Mchunu – 1479 (Accepted)
2. Ace Magashule – 930 (Accepted)

Deputy Secretary-General :
1. Jessie Duarte – 845 (Accepted)
2. Zingiswa Losi – 361 (Accepted)