Jacques van der Westhuyzen
Head of Sport
2 minute read
17 Sep 2021
1:53 pm

Bulls boss White picks 37 men for European URC trip

Jacques van der Westhuyzen

The Bulls boss has included nine Springboks in his group, including new recruit Bismarck du Plessis.

Former Springbok hooker Bismarck du Plessis, seen here in the colours of Montpellier, has been picked by the Bulls to go to Europe for the first few matches in the United Rugby Championship. Picture: John Berry/Getty Images

Seasoned Springbok hooker Bismarck du Plessis joined his new team, the Bulls, this week and he’ll jet off with the rest of the squad to Europe on Saturday, set to feature in the new United Rugby Championship.

Du Plessis, who previously played for the Cheetahs and Sharks in South Africa, and Montpellier in France, is the notable inclusion in Jake White’s 37-man squad.

The Bulls will play four matches in Europe – against Leinster, Connacht, Cardiff and Edinburgh.

Also in the squad is another former Bok and Cheetahs man, flyhalf Johan Goosen, who missed last week’s Currie Cup final because of Covid.

There are also recalls for scrumhalf Embrose Papier and Sintu Manjezi, both of whom have been sidelined with injury in recent weeks.

“We have a long and tough URC season ahead, and it will be important how we manage our squad going forward,” said White on Friday.

“Equally, it is important that we continue building on the winning culture we are creating at the Bulls, so it is imperative that we utilise our experienced workhorses and our exciting youngsters.”

Bulls tour fixtures

Leinster Rugby – Saturday, September 25, 6.15pm (SA time)
Connacht Rugby – Friday, October 1, 8.35pm (SA time)
Cardiff Rugby – Saturday, October 9, 8.35pm (SA time)
Edinburgh – Saturday, October 16, 6.15pm (SA time)

Bulls tour squad

FORWARDS: Lizo Gqoboka, Simphiwe Matanzima, Gerhard Steenekamp, Mornay Smith, Jacques van Rooyen, Robert Hunt, Bismarck du Plessis, Jan-Hendrik Wessels, Joe van Zyl, Sidney Tobias, Schalk Erasmus, Walt Steenkamp, Sintu Manjezi, Reinhardt Ludwig, Ruan Nortje, Janko Swanepoel, Arno Botha, Marcell Coetzee, Jacques du Plessis, Muller Uys, Elrigh Louw, WJ Steenkamp

BACKS: Zak Burger, Embrose Papier, Marco Jansen van Vuren, Keagan Johannes, Johan Goosen, Chris Smith, Cornal Hendricks, Harold Vorster, Lionel Mapoe, Stedman Gans, Kurt-Lee Arendse, Madosh Tambwe, Stravino Jacobs, Ruan Combrinck, David Kriel