Jonty Mark

By Jonty Mark

Football Editor

Chiefs and Pirates legends clash in Emalahleni

'A game between Chiefs and Pirates is never a friendly,' said Kaizer Motaung Snr

Kaizer Chiefs chairman Kaizer Motaung Snr says the idea of a ‘friendly’ between Amakhosi and Orlando Pirates does not exist.

Chiefs legends will take on Pirates legends on Saturday at the Pumas Rugby Stadium in Emalahleni (kick off 3pm), and the excitement around the clash can be seen in the fact that tickets for the match are sold out.

“I thank the organisers for setting up these games and it is important for our legends to be active and continue to feature for the team,” said Motaung Snr according to the Chiefs official website.

“A game between Chiefs and Pirates is never a friendly and is also a good sporting spectacle for the fans and those involved.”

Chiefs’ marketing and commercial director Jessica Motaung added that playing in Emalahleni supports an idea of playing these games at venues where the Chiefs first team do not play.

“In recent months our legends have played games in towns where the first team do not feature. We are pleased to be able to connect with fans in different towns and would like to show our appreciation to the organizers for taking us to Emalahleni, a place where we have not played for a while,” said Jessica Motaung.

The Chiefs legends squad includes stars of the past like Brian Baloyi, Jabu Mahlangu (formerly Pule), Siphiwe Tshabalala and Siyabonga Nomvethe.

“We won against them a few months ago in Malamulele and we will try to defeat our Pirates counterparts again. We have a strong team, and we have some new inclusions,” said Chiefs legends co-coach Thabo Mooki, himself a former star of the Amakhosi midfield.

“We are happy to always get the guys together and play these games. We will be looking to give our fans in Emalahleni a good memorable game.”

Chiefs Legends squad

Brian Baloyi, Rowen Fernandez, Cyril Nzama, Nhlanhla Kubeka, Tsepo Masilela, Morgan Gould, Derrick Spencer, Siyabonga Nkosi, Stanton Fredericks, Jabu (Pule) Mahlangu, Siphiwe Tshabalala, Mandla Masango, Josta Dladla, Frank Makua, David Radebe, Siyabonga Nomvethe.