Scandal, Isibaya and 7de Laan lead soapie awards

Scandal, Isibaya, and 7de Laan have received the most nominations for this year’s Royalty Soapie Awards.

Isibaya and Scandal scooped 16 nominations each while 7 de Laan took 14.

The awards which were created by former Generations actress, Winnie Modise, have always struggled to get all of the country’s soapies on board and this year is no different.

Rhythm City, Skeem Saam and Zabalaza did not enter any of their actors while new soapies Generations – The Legacy and Skeem Saam didn’t fall within the timeframe to be eligible to participate.
The awards’s project director Sindile Xulu said some productions chose not to enter “for variety of reasons”.

The awards will be held on the28th of March at the Durban International Convention Centre (Durban, ICC) and will be hosted by comic duo Goliath and Goliath (Donavan and Jason Goliath).

Voting will be done by SMS from 19 February to 20 March and details can be found on the website, Facebook and twitter.

The nominees for the 2015 Royalty Soapie Awards are:

Outstanding Lead Actor
Motlatsi Mafatshe as Sechaba for Isidingo
Siyabonga Thwala as Mpiyakhe Zungu for Isibaya
Theodore Jantjies as Xander Meintjies for 7de Laan
Vusi Kunene as Jefferson Sibeko for Isidingo
Zane Meas as Neville Meintjies for 7de Laan

Outstanding Lead Actress
Kgomotso Christopher as Katlego for Isidingo
Marjorie Langa as Gloria Rangaka for Scandal
Masasa Mbangeni as Thembeka Shezi for Scandal
Thembi Nyandeni as Mkabayi Zungu for Isibaya
Vinette Ebrahim as Charmaine Meintjies for 7de Laan

Outstanding Male Villain
André Lötter as Liamle Roux for Villa Rosa
Robert Whitehead as Barker Haines for Isidingo
Sello Maake Ka-Ncube as Lucas Nyathi for Scandal
Vusi Kunene as Bhekifa for Isibaya
Wilhelm van der Walt as Tyrone (TY) for 7de Laan

Outstanding Female Villain
Dawn Matthews as Shakira Willemse for Scandal
Jo da Silva as Gita McGregor for 7de Laan
Mampho Brescia as Iris for Isibaya
Therese Benadé as Astrid Wentzel for Villa Rosa

Outstanding Supporting Actor
Andile Sithole as Ndumiso Ngcobo for Scandal
Bongani Gumede as Mandla Ndlovu for Isibaya
Jody Abrahams as Marcel Beauchamp for Scandal
Kaz McFadden as Dewald for 7de Laan
Zakhele Mabasa as S’khaleni for Isibaya

Outstanding Supporting Actress
Dorette Potgieter as Wanda for Villa Rosa
Mampho Brescia as Iris for Isibaya
Mapaseka Koetle as Dintle Setuke for Scandal
Natasha Sutherland as Layla Mckenzie for Scandal
Nomzamo Mbatha as Thandeka for Isibaya

Outstanding Newcomer
Andile Gumbi as Zweli for Isibaya
Buhle Samuels as Matshidiso for Muvhango
Fulu Mugovhani as Anzani Muneri for Scandal
Izak Davel as Bradley for Isidingo
Tessa Holloway as Sonja for 7de Laan

Most Popular Soapie
7de Laan
Rhythm City
Villa Rosa

Outstanding Soapie
7de Laan
Villa Rosa

Outstanding Set Design
7de Laan

Outstanding Writing Team
7de Laan

Outstanding Wardrobe
7de Laan

Outstanding Directing Team
7de Laan

Outstanding Editing Team
7de Laan

Outstanding Lighting
7de Laan

Certificates will be awarded in the following categories and the nominees are:

Outstanding Couple
Celeste Ntuli & Ayanda Borotho for Isibaya
Jessica Nkosi & Andile Mxakaza for Isibaya

Outstanding Make-up & Hair
Amy Sprawson for Isidingo
Sheila Petlele for Isibaya

Outstanding Art Direction
Rohan Horn for 7de Laan
Dylan Lloyd for Isibaya

Outstanding Casting Director
Angus Gibson for Isibaya
Kutlwano Ditsele for Isibaya

Outstanding Audio
Joel Kapend, Mark Phillips for Isibaya
& Vaughn Phillips

Read more on these topics

Isibaya royalty soapie awards scandal

Access premium news and stories

Access to the top content, vouchers and other member only benefits