Sport / Phakaaathi / Local Soccer

Phakaaathi Reporter
1 minute read
21 Aug 2017
2:04 pm

Baxter names Bafana squad for Cape Verde

Phakaaathi Reporter

Thulani Serero, Morgan Gould and Kamohelo Mokotjo join the team.

Stuart Baxter, coach of South Africa (Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix)

Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has named his 25-man squad for next month’s 2018 Fifa World Cup qualifiers against Cape Verde.

The first leg of the qualifiers is set to be played in Praia on Friday, September 1, with Bafana Bafana hosting Cape Verde in Durban in the second leg four days later.

READ: Shabba, Yeye and Gould set for Bafana return – report

As reported earlier, Thulani Serero and Kamohelo Mokotjo‚ who missed the last qualifier against Nigeria in June‚ have returned to Bafana.

Morgan Gould has also received a call-up after a four-year absence in the national team colours.

The Bafana squad:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United).

Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs), Rivaldo Coetzee (Ajax Cape Town), Eric Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Bidvest Wits), Morgan Gould (SuperSport United), Abbubaker Mobara (Orlando Pirates), Sifiso Hlanti (Bidvest Wits), Tebogo Langerman (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Midfielders: Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier), Andile Jali (KV Oostende), Kamohelo Mokotjo (FC Twente), Dean Furman (SuperSport United), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thulani Serero (Vitesse), Bongani Zungu (Vitoria Guimaraes).

Strikers: Daylon Claasen (Bidvest Wits), Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns), Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City), Tokelo Rantie (Gençlerbirliği), Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United), Kermit Erasmus (RC Lens).