Sport / Phakaaathi / Local Soccer

Phakaaathi Reporter
1 minute read
20 Feb 2017
3:58 pm

Senong names Amajita’s Afcon squad

Phakaaathi Reporter

SA Under-20 coach Thabo Senong has named his 21-man squad for the 2017 Caf U20 Afcon tournament in Zambia from February 26-March 12.

SA Under-20 coach Thabo Senong

On-form Bidvest Wits striker Phakamani Mahlambi has been included in the squad and is expected to lead the attack.

Amajita are in Group B, alongside Senegal, Cameroon and Sudan. They play their games in Ndola while Group A, whose games will take place in Lusaka, consists of tournament hosts Zambia, Egypt, Mali and Guinea.

Four top teams from the tournament will automatically qualify for the 2017 Fifa U20 World Cup, which will take place in South Korea from May 20 to June 11.

“We are going to a tough tournament so it is imperative that we take our strongest players. We have managed to assess the players in the matches against Zambia last week and Mali on Sunday and this is our final squad and I am happy with it,” said Senong.

“They (players) understand what is expected of them in the tournament and we have set objectives for this team. We are happy that the players have experience, with some coming from the U17 national set up, some from the Cosafa Cup played last year and others from the U23 set up; therefore we are confident going into the tournament.”

The Amajita squad:

GOALKEEPERS: Sanele Tshabalala (Bidvest Wits), Mondli Mpoto (SuperSport United), Khulekani Kubheka (Mamelodi Sundowns)

DEFENDERS: Notha Nature Ngcobo (Mamelodi Sundowns), Repo Tercious Malepe (Orlando Pirates), Aghmat Ridhaa Ceres (Ajax Cape Town), Siyabonga Ngezana (Kaizer Chiefs), Katlego Mohamme (SuperSport United), Sandile Mthethwa (Orlando Pirates), Thendo Mukumela (Mamelodi Sundowns)

MIDFIELDERS: Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United), Sipho Percevale Mbule (Orlando Pirates), Wiseman Meyiwa (Kaizer Chiefs), Phakamani Mahlambi (Bidvest Wits), Sibongakonke Ntuthuko Mbatha (Bidvest Wits), Kobamelo Kodisang (Platinum Stars), Grant Margeman (Ajax Cape Town)

STRIKERS: Itumeleng Shopane (Kaizer Chiefs), Khanyisa Erick Mayo (SuperSport United), Liam Jonathan Jordan (Sporting CP – Portugal), Luther Singh (Sporting Braga B – Portugal)